lunduniversity.lu.se

Department of Chemistry

Lund University

Denna sida på svenska This page in English

About the Centre for Analysis and Synthesis

During 2010 the former divisions of organic chemistry and polymer and materials chemistry merged to a common unit with the name Centre for Analysis and Synthesis (CAS).

The Centre has approximately 80 employees of which 18 are Faculty and about 45 are graduate students or post-docs.

The Centre for Analysis and Synthesis belongs to both the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Engineering and we teach students from both faculties. Thus, we are responsible for teaching the core subjects of general, analytical, inorganic, materials, polymer and organic chemistry from undergraduate to doctorate level.

Information about the Faculties can be found in the following links:

Faculty of Engineering / Lunds Tekniska Högskola(LTH)

Faculty of Science / Naturvetenskapliga fakulteten

The research at CAS is cross-disciplinary and is presented for each research group. The research involves inter alia:

  • Green chemistry and green technology

  • Chemical biology: small organic molecules as tools in life sciences with special emphasis on constituents of fungi and medicinal plants, DNA recognition, tubulin-modulating molecules, and glycobiology

  • Synthesis of natural products and derivatives

  • Self-assembly, supramolecular catalysis and host-guest phenomena of synthetic receptors

  • Organometallic chemistry of the transition metals with an emphasis on activation of small molecules and unreactive bonds

  • Bioorganic stereochemistry

  • Computational modeling and design of novel biologically active compounds

  • Supercritical fluid technology

  • Hollow fiber membrane extraction

  • Functional polymer materials

  • Atomic scale structure  and chemical composition of materials for energy conversion

  • Biocompatible inorganic materials

  • Oxide and silicate materials

  • Complex intermetallics

Head of Department

Ola Wendt
046-222 81 53 (ext. 28153)
Ola.Wendt@chem.lu.se

Jan-Olle Malm(deputy)
046-222 82 31 (ext.28231)
Jan-Olle.Malm@chem.lu.se

Administrator

Maria Levin
046-222 82 10 (ank. 28210)
Maria.Levin@chem.lu.se

Finance

Maria Lantz
046-222 82 25 (ext. 28225)
maria.lantz@kilu.lu.se

Purchasing

Katarina Fredriksson
046 222 81 37
katarina.fredriksson@chem.lu.se

Safety, health and work environment

Sofia Essén
sofia.essen@chem.lu.se

Sophie Manner
sophie.manner@chem.lu.se

Daniel Strand
daniel.strand@chem.lu.se

Computer manager

Anders Sundin
Anders.Sundin@chem.lu.se

Lars Thell
046-222 82 24 (ank.28224)
Lars.Thell@chem.lu.se